Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
#4459 Mar 26th, 2007 at 12:06 PM
OP Offline
I am pretty new to gardening--I have had a couple gardens in my life but the last few years have really started to enjoy it and even got a few things to grow last year! I am starting seeds this year and it makes me nervous that I will kill them so I joined in hopes of getting answers to questions sothat I can keep the little babes alive!

I now have tomato, habenero, pumpkin, pickling cucumbers, lots of hot peppers, and a couple wave petunia seedlings filling my window sills. Right now they only have the "cotlydon" set of leaves on them, when do the "true leaves" show up and do I really snip them off? That scares me. Of course, I can hardly stand to thin my plants in the first place so snipping leaves is scary. Also, what is tip-pruning? I read someplace that you are supposed to tip-prune the petunias as they are growing but I cannot figure out what exactly that is.

Thanks! Sorry for the long post--I have lots of questions :)

cakegrurl #4483 Mar 26th, 2007 at 12:48 PM
MLN Offline
Welcome to the forum! Congrats on all your sprouts. I don't snip off any leaves on my seedlings and mine have always done very well.

[Linked Image]
Nature Lover
MLN #4485 Mar 26th, 2007 at 01:08 PM
OP Offline
Thanks for the reply! How long does it take before the true leaves start appearing?

#4506 Mar 26th, 2007 at 01:33 PM
OP Offline
Thank you for your answer! :) They have only been sprouted and in the window sill for a week or so but I am anxious to see the real leaves. I only tried plants from seed once before and I over-watered them then they died so it is quite a little victory for me to have this army of seedlings in my sill now!

Thanks again...I had been "Googling" and hadn't found a site to even given me an estimate yet so I do appreciate it!

#4657 Mar 26th, 2007 at 04:51 PM
OP Offline