Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
#215051 Jun 10th, 2008 at 09:55 AM
OP Offline
I am in a new home with many flower beds. They have been neglected and are overgrown with weeds, grass, errant seeds from existing plantings. I am a novice and would like to "restore" the gardens. I am overwhelmed and don't even know where to begin. I have spent hours plucking only dandelions....where do I start? any experienced advice?

HopefulinWI #215059 Jun 10th, 2008 at 10:18 AM
Northern Star
30k Posts
Online Crazy
Northern Star
30k Posts
Well you've got a big job ahead of you. Are the flower beds very big? It's best to start in small sections so you don't get overwhemed.

Also do you know what is in the beds? Some things should only be moved at certain times of the year. By the way did you just pluck the dandelions or dig them out with their roots?

~~Tam~ You can bury all your troubles by digging in the dirt.
[Linked Image from agardenersforum.com]
[Linked Image from agardenersforum.com]
Sunflowers #215077 Jun 10th, 2008 at 11:54 AM
Fencer
3k Posts
Fencer
3k Posts
I think your off to a good start. remove what you KNOW you don't want. and yes, like Tamara said, dig it up from the roots.
you may have some very nice things in there! you could take pic's along the way. also, keep in mind that some things bloom at certain times of the year. so If you don't know what it is, it might be best to leave it a while.

Cricket

Ah, summer, what power you have to make us suffer and like it. ~Russel Baker
Sunflowers #215090 Jun 10th, 2008 at 01:24 PM
OP Offline