Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
#259089 Jan 25th, 2009 at 06:25 PM
Eva Offline OP
OP Offline
While digging up the soil, for adding compost and such for my soon-to-be-new garden (I am a newbie!) I saw a million ants! So.. (I realize this may be a dumb question, sorry) can ants hurt my garden or are they just another part of nature?? If they are a problem, what do I do? Oh, and I would really like to take care of them naturally...
Thank you so much..

[Linked Image]
~Believing in God for a miracle~

The sunshine is calling me, the dirt says come and play, the little seeds yawn for a nap, the weeds yell go away!
Eva #259097 Jan 25th, 2009 at 06:35 PM
California Queen
30k Posts
California Queen
30k Posts
Ants can hurt your garden. I'm not too sure what 'natural' thing you want to do to get rid of them .If you can find their main underground trails you can pour boiling water on them. That is the most natural thing i know of.
I am a fan of boric acid myself, A dry powder that you put down and it basically poisons them. But it does need to stay dry in order for it to work. Maybe someone else will have better advice for you.

~Tina
[Linked Image]
[Linked Image]

Drama Free Zone.
What every gardener loves the most, Begins and ends in rich compost. (Tina)
Tina #259111 Jan 25th, 2009 at 07:36 PM
Eva Offline OP
OP Offline
Thanks, Tina!
I read on here that cornmeal would work, too... I was jsut wondering if it was necessary.. I don't relaly like killing things..

[Linked Image]

The sunshine is calling me, the dirt says come and play, the little seeds yawn for a nap, the weeds yell go away!
Eva #259117 Jan 25th, 2009 at 08:11 PM
California Queen
30k Posts
California Queen
30k Posts