Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
#206089 May 2nd, 2008 at 06:56 AM
Gena Offline OP
OP Offline
Hi all! I am an admitted gardening novice. With the way food and fuel prices are going, a nice big veggie garden is my stab at saving a few bucks. Our family is large and a baby is on the way. So, I am coming to you all in hopes of finding my path. I will apologize now for any rambling I may do...I'm so excited about this!

I live in southern IL...zone 6a according to the USDA map. I've got a nice big plot that my sis and I are going to till this weekend. I'm hoping we aren't too late in starting. Thankfully the plot is at my mother's farm and critters aren't an issue due to 7 resident dogs :)

Our plans are to plant the following:
Tomatoes--several varieties, probably 15-20 plants as we share with a local assisted living facility. We always grow lots of tomatoes, but only tomatoes most years.
Bell peppers
JalapeƱos (maybe)
Onions
Radishes and/or turnips(maybe but I think I'm too late for them)
Green beans (blue lakes)
Zucchini
Cucumbers
Sweet corn (this likely will take up half the plot...we love our corn!)

I'm also snagging a few of Mom's planters to grow herbs like cilantro, basil and oregano. I've got LOTS of herb room and am going blank on that...ideas? Also, I'm a bit stumped and googling is not helping me. When should these things be going in the ground? I'll be getting all but the cukes, zukes and radishes as seedlings from the feed store. There isn't much available yet so I'm thinking I'm ok so far. Now if the rains would ease up for a few days and let things dry we'd be doing a lot better!

Gena #206091 May 2nd, 2008 at 07:05 AM
Twinkie the Kid
1k Posts
Twinkie the Kid
1k Posts