Rate Thread
#204074 Apr 24th, 2008 at 06:07 AM
cricket Offline OP
Fencer
3k Posts
OP Offline
Fencer
3k Posts
This past year I've acquired 3 trees. I've never done trees before. they are only about a foot tall. My question is are there advantages to putting them in the ground or is it ok to leave in the pots for another year? I have an avacodo, a pomegranite, and a 'mystery' citrus.

Cricket

Ah, summer, what power you have to make us suffer and like it. ~Russel Baker
cricket #204091 Apr 24th, 2008 at 06:28 AM
California Queen
30k Posts
California Queen
30k Posts
What are your plans for them eventually? Are you planning a move in the next year or so? How are they doing in their pots? Do they need larger pots to thrive? They will probably survive potted for another year or so. But if you are looking for fruit production, that will happen much better in the ground when you have a permanent spot for them.

~Tina
[Linked Image]
[Linked Image]

Drama Free Zone.
What every gardener loves the most, Begins and ends in rich compost. (Tina)
Tina #204097 Apr 24th, 2008 at 06:51 AM
cricket Offline OP
Fencer
3k Posts
OP Offline
Fencer
3k Posts
Were not planning on moving any time soon. I'm just so indecisive about where to put them! I go out with a mission to get them in the ground somewhere and just can't make up my mind. Trees are just so permanent. Also, hubby gets kinda agressive with the tractor when he has it in his head to do some mowing. ha ha. They are in 1 gal. pots right now. I don't know what size is good for them at 1 ft, but they seem to be doing ok.

Cricket

cricket #205502 Apr 29th, 2008 at 07:50 PM
Frogger
40k Posts
Online Happy
Frogger
40k Posts