Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
#210615 May 22nd, 2008 at 12:06 PM
OP Offline
Hi there, I'm a newbie to veggie gardening and have begun with 2 raised beds with a variety of pots too. This last week i have struggled with coping with the texas weather extremes - from 3" of rain in 2 days, to none for a week, to golf ball style hail and now nearly three figures in temperature!!
The garden was going extremely well but now i have come across some problems:

Picture 1: I think water damage to the tomotoe plants lower leaves- should I cut these off or leave them?

Picture 2: I think sunburn to my peppers? Ive erected a temporary sheet for shade but does anyone know of a more perminate soloution?

Picture 3: Cucumber in pot? Any help - first it seemed to be needin water, then i think it got too much now its wilting - is it a gonna or is it salvagable?
Any advice - thanks in advance

http://www.davidanddonita.com/garden.htm

Fencer
3k Posts
Fencer
3k Posts
I'm from tx also. welcome to the forum!
what variety of tomato is that? looks very different to me. I see brown leaves at the bottom of the plant. you could certainly remove those carefully. im not sure if i'm seeing yellow in the leaves or if that is a glare from the sun?
it looks like something ate on your pepper. i'd look it over good for bugs. peppers shouldn't burn in this heat. they love it hot!
your cucumber looks fine to me. my cucumber plants never look extreamly 'pretty' but always produce tons. I'm wondering if your pot is big enough though?

Cricket

Ah, summer, what power you have to make us suffer and like it. ~Russel Baker
OP Offline
Thanks for the advice Cricket - they are Roma tomatoes.

The pepper is definately not bugs - I'll post some better pictures. Theres a few which have the brown old looking skin on the same side, but its not happened again since that extremely hot day?!