Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
#228397 Aug 14th, 2008 at 09:06 AM
OP Offline
I am new to this web site so please bear with me while I stumble through getting use to using it. I am a Georgia resident and I am in hopes that someone here can help me save my azealia's. We have had a terrible drought this year and they have suffered. There were hardly any blooms this year from most everyone I know. I want to cut them back but I'm afraid if they are in a fragile state it will permanently damage them and they will die. Does anyone know if pruning now will do them more harm than good. Or should I just let nature take it's coarse and leave them alone and hope for better results next year? Your help will be deeply appreciated.

cathyraye #228435 Aug 14th, 2008 at 12:13 PM
Miss. Farmer
500 Posts
Miss. Farmer
500 Posts
Do not cut them back now!

First-- what kind of azaleas do you have? Generally speaking, they are going to be the small, low-ish to the ground, with small blooms about 1-2' height kind OR the much larger (getting a big as 6-8' tall) with very large flowers kind.

In any case, if you had no flowers this year, it's not because you are having a drought THIS year. Azaleas bloom on last year's growth-- so it's last year's weather & environment that mattered. This is the reason one prunes azaleas right after they bloom, so that the plant can grow new growth for next year's blooms. As far south as Georgia, I'd guess you shouldn't prune after July 1 at the latest (this might even be too late). Point is-- if you prune NOW, you are sure to have no flowers next year, either.