Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Jaes Offline OP
OP Offline
From the question, you can tell I am new to gardening. Several months ago, I purchased 2 very large containers to try "patio gardening." --In one pot there are cheery tomatoes--they're doing fine --and I certainly can tell when to pick then. However, in the other pot, I have this very nice green, bell pepper plant---the peeper plant is just now getting several peppers on it (I started the planting late in the season). One of the peppers is getting quite large (very near the size that one sees in the grocery store). How do I know when to pick it? ----(1) When I think it is big enough? (2) When the stem of the pepper starts to dry-up (I don't know that that happens--that's why I ask)? or (3) Do I just wait until the pepper falls from the vine? ---I told you I was new to this--- so be gentle. ----thanks, for you help. ---Jaes.

Last edited by Jaes; Sep 1st, 2008 at 07:22 AM. Reason: spelling
Miss. Farmer
500 Posts
Miss. Farmer
500 Posts
Green peppers can be picked any time you want to pick them. Now would be good. Pick one of the "ripest" and taste it! I'll bet it's delicious. If you allow the peppers to hang on the vine, they will most likely begin to turn from green to redish (not all cultivars will, but most). The longer you let them hang, the sweeter they will become. So again, pick one and see how it tastes.