Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
#252390 Dec 29th, 2008 at 04:30 PM
OP Offline
Hi everyone! I'm new around here and a novice at vegetable gardening. I've had a few gardens in the past but I usually lose my cucumbers to powdery mildew and most other things to aphids. I'm giving it another go this spring. I'm hopefully going to plant zucchini, cucumbers, carrots, peas, beans, tomatoes and sweet peppers. I haven't done anything to the ground yet. My husband is installing a whole yard sprinkler system in the spring so I should have adequate water throughout the growing season. Should I go ahead and dig the ground now and start enriching it with vegetable peels, egg shells, etc. or should I just start a compost pile and add it to the garden in the spring? I'm not very good at this so any advice is much appreciated. I'd really love to have a healthy productive garden this year.

- Rosemarie

PS - I live in Delaware which I think is zone 7 and the winters are not too cold around here anymore.

Rosemarie #252391 Dec 29th, 2008 at 04:47 PM
California Queen
30k Posts
California Queen
30k Posts
Welcome, Rosemarie. Good luck with your veggies. My difficulties here are water supply and critters so I rely heavily on friends and neighbors for fresh goodies in summer. I think I would go with the compost pile for right now. It may be a little late to ask things to decompose in-ground before it is time to plant. But someone may come along with a better idea soon so stay tuned.

~Tina
[Linked Image]
[Linked Image]

Drama Free Zone.
What every gardener loves the most, Begins and ends in rich compost. (Tina)
Tina #252395 Dec 29th, 2008 at 05:18 PM
Patriot
10k Posts
Patriot
10k Posts
Hi Rosemarie. My son in law is from Delaware. His parents still live there and were just here for Christmas.