Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
#257223 Jan 16th, 2009 at 06:01 PM
OP Offline
I am an Iraq Veteran at a hospital in California. I am trying to pass my time here by growing a garden, of which I have moderate experience, but ran into a promblem. The planter boxes are riddled with roots! They have nothing to do with the plants that were previously grown in there but I have no idea how to get rid of them. Any advice would be great. Thank you!!!
Sgt. Cody Conway USMC

A Gnome's Best Friend
30k Posts
A Gnome's Best Friend
30k Posts
Are the planter boxes wood?? I don't think I understand,,,,,, is there still soil in the boxes?? can you not just pull the roots out,??, How deep are the boxes?? blush sorry for all the questions,,

[Linked Image]
[Linked Image]
"Grace without perfection is more to be desired than perfection without grace."
OP Offline
Yes, the planter boxes are wood and there is soil in them. The roots are all over in the soil. They keep me from digging it up. I have already broken a shovel trying to turn the soil. I have never seen anything lik it. There are no living plants, except a few weeds that I pulled out and some grass. It is just soil... The best way that I can describe it is that the soil is held in by these roots that are all intertwined. It would tak me a week to pull all of the roots out. Do you think I can salvage the garden or should I dig it up and start over? Thanks! Oh and the planters are about 3X6X3

Last edited by SgtConway; Jan 17th, 2009 at 01:14 AM.
Official Taste Tester
10k Posts
Official Taste Tester
10k Posts
to bad they are so big or I'd say just turn them over and dump out the soil that is there.

Have you tried soaking the soil and then digging the roots out?

I'm assuming you have basically hard pack rather than a good potting soil at this point.