Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3
OP Offline
Hi Everyone,

I'm new at organic gardening and I want to know about this no-till-gardening? Does anybody know anything about it? I was considering it as I work outside the home and have limited time but plenty of space.. It appears to be composted gardening is this correct? Plus my husband wants me to plant potatoes what is the best way to start them and when? Also one more question,, do strawberries grow best on sandy soil or organic soil or black soil and when do they need to be planted? Thanks for any input... I live in SW Wisconsin so it's cold here until Mid May.

Theresa~~~ from Up Der Norf
Fencer
3k Posts
Fencer
3k Posts
Whoa! you weren't kidding about having a lot of questions. ha ha
you might get more responses for each question if you open seperate threads next time.

I believe what you are talking about with the no-till, is called lasagna gardening. I've been doing that in most of my flower beds for a couple of years now. the theory is, your dirt bugs (worms and such) come up to nibble on the decaying newspaper, grass clippings, whatever and they loosen the soil for you. I'm finding I still need to hand till a bit. the soil still gets too compacted. I'll say this though....the lasagna garden works great for keeping the weeding down to a minimum!

potatoes can grow well in straight compost.

and I'll skip commenting on stawberries. I just don't have much luck with them.

Cricket

Ah, summer, what power you have to make us suffer and like it. ~Russel Baker
Official Taste Tester
10k Posts
Official Taste Tester
10k Posts
I thought of something entirely different when you said no till gardening. A couple of years ago there was a documentary about how tilling causes the loss of top soil. I live on a slope so if I till and it rains I'd lose most of my top soil so this is what I'm doing.