Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
#274195 Apr 13th, 2009 at 09:55 AM
OP Offline
Hi everybody,

This is my first post to the forum. I just bought 2 plants for my cube, and they looked really healthy. I've had them in my cube for maybe 3 weeks now, and they still look okay, but some of the leaves are yellowing/browning. I'm a novice at plants, so I don't know whether the problem is too much sun, too little sun, too much water, too little water, or something else. I also would like to know the names (scientific or common) of the plants. Links are below - there's a close up on the browning/yellowing, as well as a wide shot of the plant for ID.

[Linked Image]

[Linked Image]

[Linked Image]

[Linked Image]
Thanks very much for any help/information you can offer!

-Dave

officedave #274211 Apr 13th, 2009 at 11:38 AM
Fencer
3k Posts
Fencer
3k Posts
yellowing leaves USUALLY means too much water. I'd snip off the yellow/brown leaves and let them dry out a bit more in between waterings. Well, let the top one dry out a bit more in between waterings. the brown leaves on the second plant I wouldn't worry about. anything could have caused that - poor air circulation maybe?
and I don't know the names of those plants. I have the same plant as your second one. mine is outside and not doing much since I moved it a couple of years ago. it's probably time to move it to another location.
Is that first one a diffenbachia?

Cricket

Ah, summer, what power you have to make us suffer and like it. ~Russel Baker
cricket #274222 Apr 13th, 2009 at 01:43 PM
Frogger
40k Posts
Online Happy
Frogger
40k Posts
I think too the first one is a Dieffenbachia---

and if I am not mistaken the second one is a Areca Palm

perhpas someone will come along with proper care instructions for you

[Linked Image from agardenersforum.com]
[Linked Image from agardenersforum.com]
________

Life isn't about how to survive the storm, but how to dance in the rain!! .....