Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
#277932 May 2nd, 2009 at 10:12 AM
OP Offline
So I've been reading that planting Basil next to tomato's makes them taste sweeter. This is something that I'd like to find out first hand for the simple fact that I'm new to gardening and I'm all about trying new things right now.

So the way I want to do this (since my garden is full) is by planting a tomato plant in a pot with some basil in the pot as well. I've gotten a big enough pot, but I just want to know what type of soil I should use. Should I use potting soil? Or should I use compost with topsoil in the pot?

If someone could let me know I would greatly appreciate it.

Thanks

Lukkyseven #277941 May 2nd, 2009 at 11:02 AM
Dr. Pepper
3k Posts
Dr. Pepper
3k Posts
Depending on the type of tomato, you'll likely need to stake it at some point.
A good quality potting soil would be best, and if you have good compost, that would be great to mix in, but don't bother with the bagged stuff. I'd get a product like Plant Tone or Tomato Tone and add a couple of tablespoons to the soil. In some climates you may have to water once a day with a potted tomato, and every couple of weeks, I'd probably water with a half strength liquid fert like fish emulsion or miracle grow. If you get a potting soil with fertilizer added, you would be better off waiting a month or 2 before adding more fert.

dave
peppereater #277985 May 2nd, 2009 at 02:58 PM
OP Offline
I ended up getting miracle grow with fert added. I'm sure it's not the same as an organic, but it'll do me for this year. I plan on staking when I need to, but I was going to let the plant grow as is for now.

The type of tomato that I'm growing in the plant is Big Cherry Tomato. I will keep the half strength liquid fert in my mind and be sure to do that as well.

Thank you

Lukkyseven #277986 May 2nd, 2009 at 03:05 PM
A Gnome's Best Friend
30k Posts
A Gnome's Best Friend
30k Posts
Dave I was thinking of doing the same thing,,