Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
#281371 May 22nd, 2009 at 10:59 AM
OP Offline
I am really new to gardening. This is the first year that I have had enough room to put in a garden. Always before, I grew a couple tomato plants in 5 gallon buckets.

This spring has been quite cool and wet in my area. I bought 3 Dona, 2 Super Marzano, 2 Roma, and 1 Super Sweet grape tomato plants from a local greenhouse. On all of my plants, the leaves have a dark purple-ish cast to them and look wilted. They do have blooms on them and even a few little tomatoes. Do you think that they are OK? Why would they look like this?

I put a handful of bone meal and blood meal in the bottoms of my holes when planting. My mom (who lives next door) did this last year and had HUGE plants with great yeilds. Could this have caused the color and wiltyness (is that even a word? LOL)?

Cassie
I imagine it is the cool you mentioned. I've seen this on plants from cool weather. You didn't say how cool. Also did you harden them off or give them any protetion? I imagine when it warms up their color will improve. Jay

Dr. Pepper
3k Posts
Dr. Pepper
3k Posts