Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
#282095 May 27th, 2009 at 07:07 AM
drsn77 Offline OP
OP Offline
Hi,
I am new to gardening, and began by planting a potted blue salvia brought from home depot.We potted it in a 10" pot, these are 3 stems of the plant in this pot.
After about 3 days of planting them , i noticed that the leaves look wilted, esp the ones at the bottom of the stems and some of them even have some black discoloration at their tips and along their veins, turning crinkled at the same time.Again, the ones at the bottom of the stem seem to be more affected.
We live in south california and have plenty of direct sun . I water these plants everyday.
Could anyone please offer some diagnoses, and sugeestions on what to do.
I do hope my gardening experiment wont turn out to be a disaster at the very outset.

drsn77 #282162 May 27th, 2009 at 02:00 PM
Miss. Farmer
500 Posts
Miss. Farmer
500 Posts
I'm no expert, but I hate to see a first post go unanswered-- and your first experience turn out to be a bad one. Hopefully someone who knows more about salvia will chime in.

I don't know the exact problem, but since these are new plants that you've transplanted, I'd suspect the underlying problem is stress. "Stress" isn't going to cause the leave to blacken, but when stressed, plants become susceptible to a host of other problems that they could normally overcome. Transplanting stresses plants, changing environments does, too.

My recommendation would be this. Get them out of the direct sunlight for now. Put them in a bright space, but one that doesn't get full-on sun all day long. If you can choose, someplace that gets morning sun, and then afternoon shade, would be better than the opposite.