Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
OP Offline
Hi there! This is my first post.

I have planted a nice bed of carrots. They came up beautifully, and the tops are gorgeous, full and green. But the roots are tiny. They've been in the ground at least a month now, and the roots don't seem to be getting any bigger.

Any ideas? I live in Raleigh, NC, and the soil has a lot of clay, but we tilled it really well and deep.

The variety I planted is nantes half-long.

Miss. Farmer
500 Posts
Miss. Farmer
500 Posts
Hi Lisa Jean & welcome!

I am not a carrot expert by ay stretch of the imagination, so I could be completely off here, but my first thought is it's way too soon to start worrying! First, be sure that you've thinned them according to the seed packet instructions. I think for this variety it's one seedling for every one inch, but check the packet. (If you didn't thin, and the tops are more than a couple of inches tall, use scissors to snip rather than trying to pull.)

This variety of carrot takes about 70 days to mature. Carrots-- the parts we eat-- are roots that are specialized as "storage" structures. After only one month, there's nothing much yet to be "stored"! If the tops are looking good, then I'd say that's good! They are photosynthesizing their little hearts out right now making lots of sugar that's being used to make more tops to do more photosynthesis. The plants won't start "storing" this energy in the roots (as sugar & starch which is why carrots are so delicious) until the season starts changing-- which is the signal to start developing the "carrot".

P.s. My mom's in G'boro & has heavy clay and she grew carrots just fine.

Carrot experts-- does this sound right to you?

[Linked Image]

"No crime is involved in plagiarizing nature's ways" (Edward H. Faulkner, 1943, "Plowman's Folly," University of Oklahoma Press).
Eva Offline