Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
OP Offline
Hey everyone,

I recently chopped off all the branches of my pine tree from the ground up to about five feet (it was overgrown and looked awful, full of dead branches that just snapped off.)

Anyway, we raked up about six inches of needles and my husband took them "away" leaving me with some nice (if root-filled) dark dirt beneath it all.

Well, this is my first year gardening at all and I've always wanted tiger lilies in my yard. I didn't find those, but found some pretty orange and yellow lillies to put in the big dirt circle in my front yard. But--I didn't know how "rich" the earth would be so, because we are seriously broke, I got a bunch of black dirt (free from the dump) stirred in about two gallons of miracle glow, then raked it in, turning (cultivating?) until it was blended and I had a lovely, rich smelling soil to work with.

I planted my flowers.

A neighbor told me though, that because of the needles from the tree, I need to put lime down. Reading online, there seems to be two schools of thought--that the lilies are great in acidic soil--and that they will die. I'm confuzzled ;)

So should I lime--and if I do--does anyone have a good link on this process?

Thanks so much for ANY help you can give me!! :)

Warmly,
Jenny:)

Miss. Farmer
500 Posts
Miss. Farmer
500 Posts
Originally Posted by JRTurner

A neighbor told me though, that because of the needles from the tree, I need to put lime down. Reading online, there seems to be two schools of thought--that the lilies are great in acidic soil--and that they will die. I'm confuzzled ;)

So should I lime--and if I do--does anyone have a good link on this process?