Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
OP Offline
Hi there,

I bought a peace lily a couple of days ago, and when I brought it back I noticed it had a small hole in one of the leaves.

Here's a picture: http://img259.imageshack.us/img259/6646/peacelily14062009closeu.jpg

It looks like it was made from a pest or fungus?

Hoping someone may help clarify.

All the other leaves seem fine. Here's a picture of the whole plant: http://img40.imageshack.us/img40/7743/peacelily14062009.jpg

Also I'm going to water it about once a week, it's currently in I think a 120mm pot and I'd water it until water starts coming out of the bottom seems to be an indicator

I'm very new to gardening and plants, this is one that sits next to my computer. I read it acts as a good air filter too through the roots & soil.

Should I pluck the leaf? Leave it as is? Open to any suggestions or thoughts

Cheers

Dr. Pepper
3k Posts
Dr. Pepper
3k Posts
That looks like simple "mechanical" damage, just a spot where the leaf was damaged, not where disease is attacking.
Your greatest challenge here is to keep the moisture level adequate. My advice would be to lift the plant and get a sense of when it's dry or wet, it will resent either too much or too little water, but if you're new to growing, I hesitate to advise transplanting to a larger container and new soil.
You're on a learning curve, so please continue to post questions.

dave
OP Offline
Thanks peppereater, I was thinking I'd wait 6 months before transporting to a larger pot, maybe a size or two up.

Also I have an area underneath the pot where excess water drains, quite large not just a saucer. Would it still be possible to overwater it if the excess water just runs through, and I empty the bottom every now and then so it never touches the container above?

With indoor plants is it advisable to even have drainage holes? Or simply managing the amount of water you give it is adequate?

1k Posts
1k Posts