Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
OP Offline
I live in Michigan and once you get below the sod and a few inches of top soil, I am on some pretty heavy clay. I don't think a vegetable garden will thrive in this clay.Instead of digging out 12+ inches of clay throughout the entire garden area and replacing it with a top soil mixture (lots of labor!), I was thinking of taking 5 gallon buckets and planting them about 1/2 way into the ground,like this (the "X"'s represent buckets):

X X X X X X X X X

X X X X X X X X X

X X X X X X X X X

And then planting the vegetables in the buckets.

Is this a crazy idea? Will it work?
I am new to this and looking to plant my first vegetable garden. Thanks for the help!

Miss. Farmer
500 Posts
Miss. Farmer
500 Posts
Welcome! And welcome to veggie gardening!

I don't know about your idea, I'd be worried about drainage & other problems. SOmeone else may have better thoughts.

Have you considered just constructing a raised bed garden? Or a lasagna garden? Basically you construct what amount to nothing more than sandboxes on top of the existing yard, and fill them with good soil (which gets talked about a lot on this site). The advantage here is that over time (a couple of seasons) the soil gets better & better.

Look into this & tell us what you think of this idea. It's a pretty common thing to do when you have problematic soil.

Also, now that I read again, it wouldn't be necessary to dig *out* the clay at all. What you'd do is till it up (wouldn't have to be 12" deep, 6-8" should do it), and then till in organic matter like rotted manure & compost. (The general consensus here is that commercial top soil can also be a problem.)

[Linked Image]

"No crime is involved in plagiarizing nature's ways" (Edward H. Faulkner, 1943, "Plowman's Folly," University of Oklahoma Press).
OP Offline
Thanks Marcia. Yeah I am thinking raised beds are the way to go after doing some more reading.