Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
#294562 Sep 3rd, 2009 at 07:57 PM
OP Offline
i have been researching terrariums for a while now as i am looking into creating one out of my 10 gal (20"x10"x12"), but after the basic idea, i get exhausted about what i should do, every post i've seen here led back to the same two sites i've looked through over and over. its not that i have much against the ideas or plants on the sites but i am relatively new in learning about plants and their care. without knowing much my mind often jumps to grandiose ideas about what would look nice or what i wish would work. at the same time i am frustrated at the thought of putting a lot of work into something that in the end will be something around 200 square inches of ground cover. i've tried to resist the desire to just go to a plant store and get what i thought looked nice and what was cheapest in wanting to do things right but i'm getting there. i guess there's a point where learning comes from doing rather than reading but i just don't want to kill anything. i guess where i am trying to get is past the look and general profile of plants and get to know how they work, and which ones would work best for the conditions i have, and possibly something interesting as well, though i guess that's a matter of preference. any ideas or advice about how a beginner could start to get working knowledge? or where to start in creating a basic yet nice beginners terrarium? i appreciate any responses. egad

California Queen
30k Posts
California Queen
30k Posts
All of us began our gardening experience as beginners. And most of us have killed plenty of plants whether we were gardening outdoors or indoor pots or even with a big fancy greenhouse. We have learned from these mistakes and grown with our gardens.