Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
#342800 Mar 22nd, 2011 at 02:52 AM
Cheesey Offline OP
OP Offline
Hi everyone....just wanted to introduce myself. I've been growing veggies for a couple of years now. This year will be my 3rd season, but I'm not very good at it and haven't had much success yet. So I'm kind of like a first time gardener I guess. Point is, I've been having a hard time figuring out why things are going wrong when they do. Most forums/topics I have found when I try to google specific problems, the threads are several years old. So found this forum and seems to have current, active members so thought I would join up.

Anyway, I believe I live in zone 9? (Not sure if that's an A or B...I live north of Houston, TX.) Hopefully will find some people here who have mastered this region. I also love sharing pics and seeing pics of what others are doing, so hopefully there are others here that enjoy the same. Despite my mediocre results to date, I'm still pretty enthusiastic about gardening.

Cheesey #342801 Mar 22nd, 2011 at 03:07 AM
California Queen
30k Posts
California Queen
30k Posts
Welcome, Cheesy. You may just find help for whatever ails your gardens here.
I don't do many vegetables in my zone 9 garden. But I do many flowers. And it is beautiful! But I keep telling everyone I have killed as many plants as I have successfully grown.
So much of gardening is trial and error and learning. Even the pros are constantly learning.

~Tina
[Linked Image]
[Linked Image]

Drama Free Zone.
What every gardener loves the most, Begins and ends in rich compost. (Tina)
Cheesey #342803 Mar 22nd, 2011 at 03:28 AM
Cheesey Offline OP
OP Offline
Thanks, I love flowers too. Quite a few years ago I had pretty good luck w/ hibiscus and roses in pots when I lived in an apartment. Now I'm into trying to grow things that I can eat. What kind of flowers do you grow?

Cheesey #342804 Mar 22nd, 2011 at 03:33 AM
California Queen
30k Posts
California Queen
30k Posts