Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
#343120 Apr 4th, 2011 at 02:03 AM
Keiko21 Offline OP
OP Offline
Hi I'm new to growing cucumbers
I planted some seeds in a DIY style pot from a supermarket and they really took off really really well
I had to replant them today because they were far too crowded and gave them their own individual tub with compost so they could bloom even more
Unfortunatly they have gone very sad and floppy. There's no discolouration of the leaves though.
I can't understand why ;_;
Can anyone offer advice and help me salvage my beautiful plants?

Many thanks
K.Ko xx

I know this is probably a dumb question, but you did give them a good soaking right? If not, that could be it. I grew cucs for the first time last year and they are very thirsty plants. Might be when you replanted them, the dirt surrounding would have soaked up any water from the original dirt it was in.

Now if that's not it, did you mess with the root system much when transplanting or did you leave the whole root system intact from the original pot and just set it down in the new pot? If you did break off the old dirt from the original pot and/or you broke any of the little roots off in the process, that will cause the plants to suffer a bit. If the damage wasn't too bad, it shouldn't take them long to recover and start growing again.

Last edited by Cheesey; Apr 5th, 2011 at 11:22 AM.
Miss. Farmer
500 Posts
Miss. Farmer
500 Posts
Soak the b-jeesus out of them. Cheesey's right. I've never heard of transplanting cukes, but my experience is that cukes are the most forgiving off all veggies. Cukes are tasty water, right? Since they are in containers, you may want to consider moving the containers out of full, 8 hour, sun until they have perked up. Give them morning sun and afternoon shade until they get their root system established again.