Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Rate Thread
#350006 Nov 21st, 2011 at 06:07 PM
OP Offline
Hi! I've had an Aloe Vera plant for a few months and I noticed a small brown spot near the base of one of the stem things (not sure what to call them) It seems to have one dieing stem and im worried it will end up the same. This is my first attempt at a house plant and any advice or suggestions will be greatly appreciated. Also, the pot doesn't have a drainage hole, how important is this?

The window it is by is not an east/west window so doesn't get direct sunlight, I leave the lamp next to it on pretty much all day to help compensate for lack of natural light. I generally water it every 3 days or so. Pictures are here

https://imgur.com/a/CH5fC

Supermaugen #350100 Nov 23rd, 2011 at 03:41 PM
it is very important for aloe vera plants to have drainiage hole because their native environment is rather dry and if not it will most likely get root rot. Looking at your pictures it is to late to save the branch so just go ahead and but it off, but you can use the pulp inside of the branch to rub on minor cuts and burns. It works very well as a healing aid.

Every plant started out as a seed ,and then came the waiting game.
Supermaugen #350113 Nov 23rd, 2011 at 11:02 PM
Star Child
3k Posts
Star Child
3k Posts
Cute plant, I love aloes, that leaf definately can be cut off. None of my aloe pots have drainage holes, because they like it dry I just don'e wat them very often. I aim to water them once a week in summer and once a month i the winter, but I have a bad mamory for watering my plants so they don't get water all that often. They do love the sunlight though, the difference in sizde of my plants that sit in direct south light and the ones near the north windows have been significant enough that I rotate them around.

[Linked Image from agardenersforum.com]

May the wind always be at your back
and your keel in the water
Supermaugen #350147 Nov 24th, 2011 at 03:55 PM